Contents Calendar Find Reference
Divrei Torah 
Navigating the Bible
Leviticus BeChukotay
  Acharey Mot
The Torah promises prosperity for the Beney Yisrael if they will follow HaShem's commandments. However, if they fail to live up to the responsibility of being the Chosen People, then chilling punishments will result. The Torah details the harsh historical process that will fall upon them when Divine protection is removed. These punishments, whose purpose is to bring Yisrael to repent, will be in seven stages, each more severe than the last. Sefer VaYikra, The Book of Leviticus, concludes with a detailed description of Erachin -- the process by which someone can make a vow to give to the Beyt HaMikdash the equivalent monetary value of a person, an animal or property.

Copyright © 2000 World ORT
Notice: This computer program is protected by copyright law and international treaties. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of this program, or any portion of it, may result in severe civil and criminal penalties, and will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.